Sometimes It’s ‘Ok’ To Keep Quiet.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when you are right and others are wrong.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when someone hurts you.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when someone insults you.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when someone disrespects your thoughts and feelings.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when others blame you for nothing.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when people think they are more mature than you.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when people talk rubbish about you behind your back.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when you are angry/frustrated/irritated.

• It’s ok to keep quite when you are depressed.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when are dumped.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when you are cheated.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when you are ignored.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when you feel lonely.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when you are disappointed.

• It’s ok to keep quiet when you are used.

• It’s ok to keep quiet for your own peace of mind, self respect and dignity.

You will lose nothing if you keep quiet. You will gain nothing by reacting.

Image

30 thoughts on “Sometimes It’s ‘Ok’ To Keep Quiet.”

  1. What r the negative sides of keeping quite?

    1. Give appearance of being submissive, so that again you are shouted at?
    2. Appear defensive, and lose trust of people in team (whether at work or at life)?

    Can you describe what strengths the person derives after staying ‘quite’? Doesn’t it psychologically work against him / her by negating its self-confidence?

    1. It definitely doesn’t affect psychologically, Sushant. That’s ‘cos you keep quiet, doesn’t mean you’re weak, it only means you’re strong. ‘Cos it’s very easy to react instantly, which doesn’t need efforts, and is not a sign of maturity. But to control your emotions, is really very difficult, and is a very good sign of maturity. It only means you’re the strongest, and by doing so, you can maintain your self-respect and dignity.

      1. Thanks for your reply, Sindhu. One last query pertaining to same subject…..

        What advise would you give to people who stay ‘quite’ in all the situations you mentioned in your article, and lose personal and professional opportunities – both in work place and life ? Sometime, professional situation would require you to be ‘blunt’ and ‘upfront’ while facing client-services and listen to bosses. Specially in so-called corporate meetings where people who talk much (even if irrelevant nonsense and false data, but use good oratory skills and persuasion), being ‘quite’ would translate to not being assertive as a manager. Or in personal lives, when you know your loved one is wrong and you don’t argue to tide the wave of confrontation, might it not give indication that you will be taken for similar ride even during next time arguments occur? Don’t you lose by being quite there? What’s your take on that?

        Last, but not the least, what are the long term traits on personality of people who have developed this habit of keeping quite? Has it accounted of their losing self-respect, or creating some long term psychological problem? Doesn’t it become chronic on long term and harm self-worth of such person?

        Thanks for putting up with such lengthy descriptions 🙂

        Cheers.

      2. Well, I mentioned in my article that it’s ok to keep quiet “sometimes”. Not “every-time”! Also, if you read my article, I’ve mentioned there, when you should be quiet. Being quiet at such situation, is advisable, to avoid certain unnecessary and unwanted issues in life. It depends on person’s character, whether they want to be quiet always, or at times when needed.

        Keeping quiet always, especially at work is not advisable. You need to be strong and bold, at work. My article doesn’t say, you should keep quiet at work, or always, or forever..!

        When it comes to your loved one, there’s nothing wrong in talking and sorting it out, if they understand, and if that will not lead to big issues. Keeping quiet will not harm, either. Sometimes, space set things right. This is my personal experience.

        People who are mature, I’ve seen always keep quiet in certain situation, where talking doesn’t help. It doesn’t affect them psychologically. In-fact, they get more respect from people, for handling the situation calmly. Again, this is my personal experience, ‘cos I myself am like that.

      3. Thanks for your reply. I guess I misread your article at first glance and substituted ‘sometime’ to ‘never’. Thanks again.

        Cheers.

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to
    this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and
    adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.

    Chat soon!

  3. I will right away grab your rss as I can’t in finding your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me recognise so that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.

  4. Wonderful blog you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover
    the same topics discussed here? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get feed-back
    from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Many thanks!

  5. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just
    your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and everything.
    But imagine if you added some great graphics or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and video clips,
    this website could certainly be one of the greatest in its niche.
    Superb blog!

  6. Can I just say what a comfort to uncover someone who truly knows what
    they’re talking about on the internet. You actually know how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    A lot more people should check this out and understand this side of the story.

    I was surprised you are not more popular because you most certainly have the gift.

  7. Everything is very open with a very clear clarification of the challenges.
    It was definitely informative. Your site is extremely helpful.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  8. After looking into a number of the blog articles on your web page, I truly like your way of
    blogging. I saved it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future.

    Take a look at my website too and let me know what you think.

  9. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest
    but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website
    to come back later on. All the best

  10. I actually like that most of the time. I prefer to just keep quite in some situations you’ve mentioned above. Sometimes, I get confused when my friends tell me that I should be assertive sometimes. Keeping quite would not solve the problem according to them.
    As for me, I prefer to keep quite because I do not want to make the issue bigger, and prior to that, sometimes, it’s hard for me to explain my part especially when the conversation gets hotter. Most of the time, I just got misunderstood.
    So, better keep quite, right? 🙂

    1. Keeping quiet is correct when you’re stressed or angry. You’re misunderstood ‘cos you’re not able to express or explain your point of view later. Try to talk about the issues in a calmer and non-defensive way, the way you’re able to explain or express to me (though I’m a third person, and a stranger)! I’m sure your loved ones will understand!
      Keeping quite always doesn’t help. During extreme stressful situations, when you cannot control your anger or stress, keeping quite is good! But later, you should talk about the issues which is disturbing you. It’s necessary for your own peace of mind! So, try to cultivate that, Mary! I’m sure you’ll be perfect.

Leave a Reply

